Information for DAAD Host Institutions

The In-Country/In-Region scholarship programme was established in the 1960s, the first programme region was Subsaharan Africa. Funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) currently more than 70 universities in 28 countries participate in this programme with 1.191 scholars (Master, PhD and PostDoc level) in 2018.

The partner universities and partner institutions in the respective countries are intermediaries, but profit directly from the programme through tuition fees. The regional focus of the programme is sub-Saharan Africa; however, very similar programmes are run in Central America, South America, South and South-East Asia, and the Middle East.

With participation in the Surplace/Third Country Fellowship Program, the receiving institutions benefit from a structural strengthening, as well as the expansion of their regional academic network. Due to the strong transnational aspect of the program, the participating receiving institutions gain international outreach. The program serves to strengthen the training of qualified academics in development-relevant subject areas in their own country and region, with a particular focus on training future teaching staff for universities. The DAAD pays the tuition fees for the scholarship holders, so that the receiving institutions also benefit financially from the program.

How to become a host institute for the In-Country/In-Region scholarship programme Eastern Africa Region

Every three years, the DAAD advertises Call for institutions/networks to apply to become partners with the DAAD to host the in-country/in-region scholarship programme. The last call for institutions was published in 2018 and 16 host institutions within Eastern Africa region were selected to become host institutions for three intakes for the period 2019 – 2021.

Receiving institutions are generally selected through a quality-based process and accepted into the Surplace/Third Country Fellowship Program for three funding years. They then have the opportunity to reapply. The selection of host institutions is carried out by an independent committee of international peers (university professors) nominated by DAAD and the respective regional university associations. The host institutions are affiliated with the programme for three intakes. Afterwards, they can reapply for participation.

Institutions that wish to participate as host institutions in the programme may submit their application within the regional selection processes.

Host Institutions located in the Eastern African Countries are invited to apply for partnership in the In-Country/In-Region Scholarship Programme. Affiliation as a host institution is for the intakes 2023-2025.

The deadline for the Expression of Interest for this year has now passed.

For more information, please read our FAQ for the call for Host Institutions

Advertisements by German Universities

Study in English - Live in German(y)!

Upgrade your career with an English-taught MSc or MBA degree from Offenburg University! Your gateway to a qualified job in Germany and around the world!


B.Sc. in Computer Science: Start studying in English language, switch ...

You are interested in new technologies, enjoy solving problems and working in interdisciplinary teams? If you also have basic German language skills, our Bachelor in Computer Science is the right choi...


MBA & Engineering in Life Science Management Programme

Internationally accredited MBA&E providing life science expertise required in leaders of the future combining comprehensive, industry-specific knowledge and management skills.



  • Regional Office Nairobi

    Madison Insurance House, 3rd floor, Upper Hill Close, P.O. Box 14050 00800 Nairobi Telephone: +254 (733) 92 99 29